Frequently Asked Questions

How do I upgrade, downgrade, or cancel my account?

 

All new accounts start off on a free 30 day trial, and then you can upgrade it to one of our plans. Or if you're already on a subscription but you'd like to switch to a different one, you can do this anytime during your subscription period. Steps for both are below:

New Users

If you are on a trial plan with FreshBooks and want to upgrade your account:

  1. ​Click on the circle icon in the top left corner (it'll either be a photo or your initials)
  2. Click on Billing and Upgrade
  3. Click on the Upgrade button and you can finish upgrading. 

 

Existing Users

If you’re looking to make any adjustments to your current plan, you can add or remove any extras:

  1. ​Click on the circle icon in the top left corner (it'll either be a photo or your initials)
  2. Click on Billing and Upgrade
  3. Click on the Upgrade button next to the plan you want to upgrade to. 

Alternatively, if you've tried to add a third Client to your free plan (free plans include two Client spaces), you'll see an upgrade page. Again, just choose the plan you need and you're all set.

 

Downgrading an Account

If you’re looking to downgrade to a lower plan, you’ll need to ensure you’ve reduced the number of active Clients and any Employees in your account first before downgrading.

  1. View your ideal plan options first by going to the circle icon in the top left corner (it'll either be a photo or your initials) and clicking on Billing and Upgrade
  2. Go to the Client section and check the box(es) off next to the Clients you wish to delete. Click on the Actions button and then select Delete 
  3. If you have any Employees that you no longer need, click on the circle icon in the top left corner, and click on My Team. Check off the boxes, click on the Actions button and then select Delete 
  4. ​Click on the circle icon in the top left corner again
  5. Click on Billing and Upgrade
  6. Click on the Downgrade button next to the plan you want to downgrade to. 

 

Cancelling an Account

While we are sad to see you go, we know that FreshBooks is not for everyone. We have made the process of cancelling your account as hassle-free as possible:

  1. ​Click on the circle icon in the top left corner (it'll either be a photo or your initials)
  2. Click on Billing and Upgrade
  3. Click on the cancel your account link at the bottom.

You will be taken to a page where you can leave a comment and cancel your account. Easy!