Frequently Asked Questions

How do I track my time?

As a business, you can track time to document your business' and team's productivity, or to bill back to the Client for your services worked. All time you track will be saved until you're ready to bill for it later.

You can track time with the timer, or by logging time manually. Time entries can also be marked as billable, edited or deleted afterwards.

 

Note: Below is our updated time tracking experience. We're gradually rolling this out to everyone - to get this experience sooner, you can reach out to us directly.


Start Timer

Using the Timer allows you to start and have the timer immediately start tracking time while you’re working. Start tracking time with these steps:

  1. Click on the Time Tracking section
  2. From the Day sub-tab, click on the stopwatch icon next to New EntryTimer button on day view.

While the timer is running, you can fill out the entry with more details:Timer box with fields to fill out.

  1. Select a Client
  2. Next, enter text in the Type to add a project and Type to add a service fields
  3. For notes, enter them in the What are you working on? field
  4. To bill the time entry on an Invoice, ensure Billable is checked off
  5. To pause, click on the Pause button, then click on Play to resume
  6. When you’re done, click Log Time next to the pause button to finish.


Notes:

  • Change the started at time if you’d like to have it start earlier
  • The Timer will continue running until you Pause it, click Log Time or Discard, even if you close your FreshBooks account
  • The Timer will follow you around as you move to other areas of your account, so there’s no need to stay on the Time Tracking page

Add Time Entry

Day View

If you have time entries you’d like to log manually, you can log time with the Day or Week sub-tabs.

The Day sub-tab is useful for logging time on a day by day basis. All time entries logged on that particular day will appear in a list below the New Entry button. To log time on the Day sub-tab, use these steps:

  1. In the Time Tracking section, you'll be on the Day sub-tab
  2. Click on the day you want to log time on (or use the calendar icon to jump back or forward weeks)
  3. Click on the New Entry button
  4. Click on the Add a project or client field, and select a Client, or the specific project to assign it toFields to fill out for new day time entry.
  5. Next, click on Add a service and choose a Service if needed
  6. In the HH:MM field, you can enter your time as a decimal (1.5), as #h #m (1h30m), or with a colon (1:5)
  7. Feel free to click on Add notes and include any details
  8. When you’re done, click on the green checkmark button to save your entry.

Week View

The Week sub-tab is ideal if you log time in bulk, especially if those daily time entries are similar. You also have the option to copy the previous week’s entries over to a new week, making timesheet entry quick. Use the below steps:

  1. In the Time Tracking section, click on the Week sub-tab
  2. Click on the week you want to log time on (or use the calendar icon to jump back or forward weeks)
  3. Click on the New Row button
  4. Click on the Add a project or client field, and select a Client, or the specific project to assign it to
  5. Next, click on Add a service and choose a Service if needed
  6. Click on the green checkmark button to proceed
  7. Enter the time as a decimal (1.5), as #h #m (1h30m), or with a colon (1:5) into any box for each day of the week you see
  8. Repeat steps 3-7 for any additional Client, Project and Service as neededView of a week with blank boxes to fill out for time tracked.
  9. When you’re done, click on Save to finish logging time for the week.

If you’ve already logged time the previous week and want to copy it over instead, click on the copy over all rows from most recent timesheet link under the New Row button. Then you can jump to step 8 above and proceed.Copy over all rows from most recent timesheet link at bottom of page. 

FAQs

How do I manually mark time entries as billed?

Time entries are automatically marked as billed when they are pulled onto an Invoice. If you prefer to Invoice without displaying time entries to your Client, you can still mark them as billed manually to keep track of time that's been recouped so far.

Follow these steps:

  1. Go to the Time Tracking section
  2. Click on the Review tab
  3. Check off the box(es) next to the entries you want to mark as billed
  4. Click on the Actions button above the list
  5. Click on Mark as BilledMark time entry as billed.
  6. Click OK in the confirmation pop-up and your time is now marked as billed.


You can also mark your time entries as unbilled. This is useful if you'd like to bill for them again, or if you've accidentally marked the wrong entry as billed. This will not stop you from billing time entries that have already been billed on previous Invoices as well.

Use these steps: 

  1. Go to the Time Tracking section
  2. Click on the Review tab
  3. Check off the box(es) next to the entries you want to mark as billed
  4. Click on the Actions button above the list
  5. Click on Mark as Unbilled
  6. Click OK in the confirmation pop-up and your time entry will now be unbilled.

 

How do I edit my time entries?

To edit a time entry, use these steps:

  1. Go to the Time Tracking section
  2. Click on the Review tab
  3. Find the entry you want to edit and click on it, a a pop-up will open
  4. Click on the date itself to change the date if needed, and edit any other details as wellEdit date of time entry.
  5. Click Save when you're done.

 

How do I delete my time entries?

Sometimes we make mistakes, like adding a time entry when we didn't need to. It's easy to delete time entries with these steps: 

  1. Go to the Time Tracking section
  2. Click on the Review tab
  3. Check the box off next to any entry (or more than one) that you want to delete
  4. Click on the Actions button above the list
  5. Click on Delete.  

You can also delete any individual time entry in the Day sub-tab or Week sub-tab by clicking on the trash can icon to the right of any entry:
Trash can icon to delete time entry.

Was this article helpful?
7 out of 10 found this helpful