Frequently Asked Questions

How do I track my time?

As a business, you can track time to document your business' and team's productivity, or to bill back to the Client for your services worked. All time you track will be saved until you're ready to bill for it later.

You can track time with the timer, or by logging time manually. Time entries can also be marked as billable, edited or deleted afterwards.

 

Start Timer

Using the Timer allows you to start and have the timer immediately start tracking time while you’re working. The Timer can be launched from three places:

  • The Start Timer button
    Start Timer button at top of page.
  • From the Recent Timers section, click on Start Timer or one of the ClientsRecent timers section with timers you can launch.
  • Next to My Time Entries section, click on the + button and select Start Timer
    Start timer button.

While the timer is running, you can fill out the entry with more details:Timer box with fields to fill out.

  1. Select a Client
  2. Next, enter text in the Type to add a project and Type to add a service fields
  3. For notes, enter them in the What are you working on? field
  4. To bill the time entry on an Invoice, ensure Billable is checked off
  5. To pause, click on the Pause button, then click on Play to resume
  6. When you’re done, click Log Time next to the pause button to finish.


Notes:

  • Change the started at time if you’d like to have it start earlier
  • The Timer will continue running until you Pause it, click Log Time or Discard, even if you close your FreshBooks account
  • The Timer will follow you around as you move to other areas of your account, so there’s no need to stay on the Time Tracking page

Add Time Entry

If you have time entries you’d like to log manually, you can use the Add Time Entry option instead. You can log time in three ways:

  • With the Day view tab
    Day view button.
  • With the Week view tab
    Week view button.
  • Next to My Time Entries section, click on the + button and select Add Time Entry
    Add time entry button.

When you log time, you can fill out the rest of the entry with more details:New time entry box with fields to fill out.

  1. Adjust the amount of time logged using either:
    1. The - or + buttons on either side of the field to increment by 15 minutes
    2. Typing in the field (e.g., “1 hour” or “1:30”)
  2. If needed, adjust the date of the entry by clicking on it and using the calendar
  3. To adjust the start time, click on the time next to the date (e.g, 11:05 am) and edit
  4. Select a Client
  5. Next, enter text in the Type to add a project and Type to add a service fields
  6. For notes, enter them in the What are you working on? field
  7. To bill the time entry on an Invoice, ensure Billable is checked off
  8. Then click Log Time at the bottom to finish. 
     

FAQs

How do I manually mark time entries as billed?

Time entries are automatically marked as billed when they are pulled onto an Invoice. If you prefer to Invoice without displaying time entries to your Client, you can still mark them as billed manually to keep track of time that's been recouped so far.

Follow these steps:

  1. Go to the Time Tracking section
  2. Check off the box(es) next to the entries you want to mark as billed
  3. Click on the Actions button above the list
  4. Click on Mark as BilledMark time entry as billed.
  5. Click OK in the confirmation pop-up and your time is now marked as billed.
     

How do I edit my time entries?

To edit a time entry, use these steps:

  1. Go to either:
    1. The Day or Week view at the top
    2. The My Time Entries list at the bottom of the page
  2. Click on the entry and a pop-up will open
  3. Edit the details as needed
  4. Click Save when you're done.

If you want to change the date of a time entry, just use the steps above and click on the date itself. A calendar will appear and you can reselect to the correct date.

Edit date of time entry.

 

How do I delete my time entries?

Sometimes we make mistakes, like adding a time entry when we didn't need to. It's easy to delete time entries with these steps: 

  1. Go to the Time Tracking section from the left-hand menu
  2. Check the box off next to any entry (or more than one) that you want to delete
  3. Click on the Actions button above the list
  4. Click on Delete.  
Was this article helpful?
3 out of 4 found this helpful