Back
Categories
Back

Categories

      View All

      How does archive or delete work?

      In FreshBooks you will find that your lists are divided into three sections: active, archived and deleted. These have different functions in FreshBooks according to each status, and you can switch between these statuses by unarchiving or undeleting most things in your account.

      Active

      • Fully functional
      • Active data appears in all of your lists and Reports
      • Counts towards your Client limit on all plans

      If you ever need to return to your active view, you can click on the All [Section] link (e.g., All Invoices, All Expenses, All Projects, etc).

       

      Archived

      • Archiving things is a great way to shorten your lists (e.g., paid Invoices can be archived and all other invoices can remain in the active view)
      • Archived projects will be viewable but you'll no longer be able to track time to it
      • Anything archived will not appear in lists (like Invoices, Expenses, Projects, etc), but will appear in Reports
      • Can be unarchived for later use
      • Counts towards your Client limit on all plans


      To archive something: 

      1. Go to the section (e.g., Invoices or Expenses)
      2. Check the box(es) off next to the content you want to archive
      3. Click on the Actions button
      4. Select ArchiveArchive button for project.
      5. View your unarchived content by clicking the View Archived [Section] button (e.g., View Archived Invoices).

      Archived Content

      See all archived content or unarchive something with the below steps:

      1. Go to the section (e.g., Invoices or Expenses)
      2. At the bottom of the list, click on the View Archived [Section] button (e.g., View Archived Invoices)
      3. Check off the box(es) next to any archived content
      4. Click on the Bulk Actions button
      5. Select Unarchive to restore it back to the main list.

      Deleted

      • Will not appear in any lists
      • Completely inactive, but can be undeleted for later use
      • Deleting Clients will not delete their past Invoices or payments associated with them
      • Deleted Clients do not count towards your Client limit on all plans
      • Deleted Team Members's time entries will remain associated to to them, and you can still bill for their entries later
      • You can also run Reports on deleted Clients if All Clients are selected, but you will not be able to run any filtered reports on a deleted Client specifically


      To delete something: 

      1. Go to the section (e.g., Invoices or Expenses)
      2. Check the box(es) off next to the content you want to delete
      3. Click on the Bulk Actions button
      4. Select DeleteDelete button for expense.
      5. View your deleted content by clicking the deleted link at the bottom of any list.

      Deleted Content

      See all deleted content or undelete something with the below steps:

      1. Go to the section (e.g., Invoices or Expenses)
      2. At the bottom of the list, click on the deleted link
      3. Check off the box(es) next to any deleted content
      4. Click on the Actions button
      5. Select Undelete to restore it back to the main list.

      Support Categories