Frequently Asked Questions

How does archive or delete work?

In FreshBooks you will find that your lists are divided into three sections: active, archived and deleted. These have different functions in FreshBooks according to each status, and you can switch between these statuses by unarchiving or undeleting most things in your account.

Active

  • Fully functional
  • Active data appears in all of your lists and Reports
  • Counts towards your Client limit on all plans

If you ever need to return to your active view, you can click on the All [Section] link (e.g., All Invoices, All Expenses, All Projects, etc). 


Archived

  • Archiving things is a great way to shorten your lists (e.g., paid Invoices can be archived and all other invoices can remain in the active view)
  • Archived projects will be viewable but you'll no longer be able to track time to it
  • Anything archived will not appear in lists (like Invoices, Expenses, Projects, etc), but will appear in Reports
  • Can be unarchived for later use
  • Counts towards your Client limit on all plans


To archive something: 

  1. Go to the section (e.g., Invoices or Expenses)
  2. Check the box(es) off next to the content you want to archive
  3. Click on the Actions button
  4. Select Archive.
    Archive button.

To access your archived content:

  1. Go to the section (e.g., Invoices or Expenses)
  2. At the bottom of the list, click on the View Archived [Section] button (e.g., View Archived Invoices)
  3. Check off the box(es) next to any archived content
  4. Click on the Actions button
  5. Select Unarchive to restore it back to the main list. 


Deleted

  • Will not appear in any lists
  • Completely inactive, but can be undeleted for later use
  • Deleting Clients will not delete their past Invoices or payments associated with them
  • Deleted Clients do not count towards your Client limit on all plans
  • Deleted Team Members will have their time entries reallocated under you instead. No time entries logged by Employees will be deleted unless you delete them yourself
  • You can also run Reports on deleted Clients if All Clients are selected, but you will not be able to run any filtered reports on a deleted Client specifically


To delete something: 

  1. Go to the section (e.g., Invoices or Expenses)
  2. Check the box(es) off next to the content you want to delete
  3. Click on the Actions button
  4. Select Delete
    Delete button.

To access your deleted content:

  1. Go to the section (e.g., Invoices or Expenses)
  2. At the bottom of the list, click on the deleted link
  3. Check off the box(es) next to any deleted content
  4. Click on the Actions button
  5. Select Undelete to restore it back to the main list.
Was this article helpful?
8 out of 11 found this helpful