Frequently Asked Questions

What permissions can I assign to my team member?

FreshBooks makes it easy to collaborate with your team members and improve your productivity. You can set your team members up as either a Basic Employee, Business Partner, or Contractor. Each role has a fixed set of permissions, which are explained below:

 

Overview of Permissions

Permissions What They Can Do What They Can't Do
Business Partner

$10 per user/monthly

Uses your business' account:

  • Dashboard
  • Invoices
  • Estimates
  • Clients
  • Expenses
  • Projects
  • Time Tracking
  • Apps & Integrations
  • Cancel your business' account
Basic Employee

$10 per user/monthly

Uses your business' account:

  • Expenses
  • Projects
  • Time Tracking
  • Only see their own time and expenses
Contractor


Has their own account, plus:

  • Projects (shared ones)
  • Time Tracking (on shared Projects)
  • Only see Projects and track time towards Projects they’ve been invited to

 

Note: Specific details on each set of permissions are explained below under each type. You can find steps to invite a Business Partner, Basic Employee or Contractor here.

 

Business Partner

A Business Partner has full access to your account:

  • Can access the Dashboard and Reports of your business’ financials
  • Can create and view Invoices, Estimates, Projects
  • Can create and manage Clients
  • Can track time and log Expenses, as well as review them

Business Partners will not be able to cancel your FreshBooks account, remove you as an admin, or access the Apps & Integrations tab.

Basic Employee

A Basic Employee has limited access to your account:

  • Can only track time and log their Expenses
  • Can view and collaborate on Projects

Basic Employees will not be able to create or send Invoices to Clients, or view your Reports or financial information for your business.


Contractor

A contractor has their own separate FreshBooks account, and you can share specific access with them:

  • Can only view and track time on Projects they have been added to
  • Can Invoice you for their time tracked

Contractors do not see anything else from your account. Because they have their own account, Contractors may choose to add and work with other Clients besides you.

 

FAQs

Can I switch my team member’s role after they’ve been assigned one?

Switching is possible between the Basic Employee and Business Partner roles only. If you have a team member in one of those two roles, switching them only requires a few steps:

  1. Click on your initials/logo in the top left corner
  2. Click on My Team
  3. In the Employees section, click on the member you want to change roles for
  4. An Edit Team Member pop-up will appear, change the role in the dropdown
  5. Click Save to finish, and the team member will receive an email about the role changes.
Was this article helpful?
6 out of 10 found this helpful