Back
Categories
Back

    Categories

      View All

      How do I invite a Team Member?

      As a Business Owner, working with others in FreshBooks is as easy as inviting them to join your account. Keep productivity and collaboration going by inviting your Team Member as either an Admin, Employee, Contractor or an Accountant.

       

      Before you invite your Team Member, check out the full set of permissions for each role here first to find out what they can and can’t access.

       

       

      Send an Invite

      There are three ways you can invite a team member to join your account:

      Dashboard

      1. Click on the Dashboard section
      2. Click on the Invite button
      3. Select either Admin, Manager, Employee, Contractor or Accountant
      4. Enter the First Name and Last Name of the Team Member
      5. Then enter the Email address in the To: field, and add a personal message if needed
      6. Then click Send Invitation. Your team member will receive an email with instructions to log in.


      My Team

      1. Click on the My Team section
      2. Click on the Invite button
      3. Select either Admin, Manager, Employee, Contractor or Accountant
      4. Enter the First Name and Last Name of the Team Member
      5. Then enter the Email address in the To: field, and add a personal message if needed
      6. Then click Send Invitation. Your team member will receive an email with instructions to log in.


      Projects

      Note that this method does not allow you to add a custom message to the email before the invite is sent:

      1. Click on the Projects section
      2. Click on an existing Project, then the Edit button (or the + New Project button for a new Project instead)
      3. Click on the Invite an Employee button, or the Invite a Contractor button
      4. Enter the email address
      5. If you selected Invite an Employee earlier, next to the email field, select Admin, Manager, or Employee from the dropdown
      6. Click Done
      7. Then click Save to finish your changes to the Project. An email will automatically be sent.

       

      Once you've invited your team member, feel free to send them a link to their Getting Started guide here.

       

      Manage Team Members

      From the Team Members section, hover over any accepted Team Member to quickly perform any of these actions: 

      Quick actions bar with two buttons over a team member row.

      • Edit - Click on the pencil icon and you’ll be taken to the edit screen of the Team Member's profile where you can adjust and save afterwards
      • Delete - Click on the trash can icon to delete the Team Member. You can view all deleted Team Members by clicking on the View Deleted Team Members button at the bottom of the list

       

      FAQs

      How do I remove or delete a Team Member? 

      Follow the steps here to delete a Team Member. Once you've deleted a Team Member that you are not planning to replace with a different Team Member, you'll also need to downgrade your account to remove the empty Team Member seat.

      Can I restore or undo a Team Member that I deleted? 

      Team Members can be undeleted with the steps here.

      Support Categories