Back
Categories
Back

Categories

      View All

      How do I create an Estimate?

      Estimates allow you to create and send an approximate outline of your Items or Services to your Client for approval before beginning the work. The client can then Accept the Estimate for approval before converting it into an Invoice, or you can go ahead and convert it yourself to start collecting payment (or apply a Deposit on it).

       

      If your My Company's Country is set to United Kingdom, Estimates are automatically renamed to Quotes throughout your account.

       

       

      Create Estimates

      If you're on your Dashboard:

      1. Click on the Create New... button
      2. Then select Estimate. This will take you to the New Estimate screen.

      Alternatively:

      1. Go to the Estimates section
      2. Click on the New Estimate button (or Create New... then select Basic Estimate). This will take you to the New Estimate screen.

      Each section of the Estimate is broken down into detail below:

      New estimate screen.

       

      Settings

      Customize Estimate Style

      • Template - You can choose between Simple or Modern, for the option of having a logo in a corner, or a wide banner across the top of your Estimate.
      • Theme Color - This will change the color of your headings (e.g., Description, Rate, Estimate Number). It will also change the banner color at the top of your Estimate on the Modern template.
      • Font - You can choose between Helvetica (Modern) and Garamond (Classic).


      For the Client

      • Currency & Language - Here you're able to change the currency or language (either English or French) of the Estimate.

      Accept an Estimate

      When you send an Estimate to your Client, they receive an email with a link to the Estimate and the primary Client will see a button to Accept it with a single click.

      The Client's view of the Estimate will look similar to below:

      Client Estimate view.

      To Accept an Estimate yourself, you can use the below steps:

      1. Go to the Estimates section
      2. Check the box off next to an Estimate that has not been Accepted yet
      3. Click on the Actions button
      4. Select Accept and the Estimate will now be marked as Accepted

       

      You can also add comments to an Estimate. Just click on the header above the Estimate, and scroll to the bottom to type a comment. This will send your Client an email with this new comment.Send message to client from estimate.

       

      Convert an Estimate into an Invoice

      Once the Estimate has been reviewed by your Client, save time by instantly converting it to an Invoice. Here's how:

      1. With the Estimate open, click on the More Actions button
      2. Click on Convert to InvoiceConvert to invoice button on estimate.
      3. You will be taken to the New Invoice page, and you can finish building the rest of your Invoice
      4. Click Save (to save as a Draft) or click Send To to email it to your Client.

      Viewed Estimate Status

      When you've sent an Estimate, you can find out exactly when your Client has viewed it (or not!) and you'll know exactly when to follow up with them.

      Just click on any Estimate, and the header above tells you the status of the Estimate (Draft, Sent, Viewed or Invoiced). You can also view the whole history of the Estimate by clicking on the header.See dropdown with the estimate's history.

       

      FAQs

      How do I manage my Estimates?

      When viewing any specific Estimate, you can click on More Actions and select any of the following:

      • Accept - Mark the Estimate as Accepted
      • Send by Email - Send or resend the Estimate by email
      • Convert to Invoice - Convert the Estimate into an Invoice to bill to a Client
      • Duplicate - Copy the Estimate and modify as needed for the same Client or for a different Client
      • Print - Print the Estimate
      • Download PDF - Download the Estimate as a PDF file
      • Archive - Move the Estimate into your list of archived Proposals
      • Delete - Delete the Estimate

       

      From the Estimates section, hover over any Estimate to quickly perform any of these actions:

      Quick actions bar with four buttons over a Estimate row.

      • Edit - Click on the pencil icon and you’ll be taken to the edit view of the Estimate where you can adjust and save afterwards
      • Duplicate - Click on the two papers icon to quickly copy your existing Estimate and modify as needed
      • Archive - Click on the box icon to move the Estimate to your Archived Estimates list
      • More Actions - Click on the three dots icon to access additional options like:
        • Accept - Click on the checkmark icon to mark your Estimate as Accepted
        • Convert to Invoice - Click on the invoice icon to convert your Estimate into an Invoice to bill to the Client
        • Download PDF - Click on the down arrow icon to download the Estimate as a PDF file
        • Delete - Click on the trash can icon to delete the Estimate. You can view all deleted Estimates by clicking on the deleted link at the bottom of the list

       

      How do I unaccept an Estimate?

      If an Estimate was mistakenly accepted, you'll need to duplicate the Estimate and delete the original one. Use the below steps:

      1. Go to the Estimates section
      2. Check the box off next to the Estimate you want to unaccept
      3. Click on Actions
      4. Then select Duplicate
      5. Save/send the duplicated Estimate as needed
      6. In the Estimates section, check the box off next to the original Estimate
      7. Click on Actions
      8. Then select Delete to delete the original accepted Estimate.

        

      Can I revert a converted Invoice back into an Estimate?

      You'll need to delete the converted Invoice first and then re-convert the Estimate again with the below steps: 

      1. Go to the Invoices section
      2. Check the box off next to the converted Invoice
      3. Click on the Actions button
      4. Select Delete
      5. Go to the Estimates section
      6. Check the box off next to the Estimate you want to unaccept
      7. Click on Actions
      8. Then select Duplicate
      9. Save or send the duplicated Estimate as needed
      10. In the Estimates section, check the box off next to the original Estimate
      11. Click on Actions
      12. Then select Delete to delete the original accepted Estimate.
      13. You can now go back to the Estimate and re-convert it. 

      Support Categories