Due to maintenance, our system will be unavailable on Wed, Apr 24 from 6:30am - 7:30am EST Got It

Frequently Asked Questions

How do I downgrade or cancel my account?

If you're currently on a paid subscription, you can always downgrade to a different plan anytime in your subscription to meet your business's growth or lulls. If you no longer need to use FreshBooks, you can also deactivate your account (though we'll miss you!).

 

Downgrading an Account

If you’re looking to downgrade to a lower plan, you’ll need to ensure you’ve reduced the number of active Clients and any Team Members in your account first before downgrading.

Note: If you are downgrading to Lite, you'll need to delete any connected Accountant(s) first.

  1. First go to the gear icon in the top left corner
  2. Then click on Billing and Upgrade and view your ideal plan options (e.g., what the Client limit is)
  3. Next, if you have too many Clients, go to the Client section and check the box(es) off next to the Clients you wish to delete (also check in the View Archived Clients page for any archived Clients which count towards the limit too)
  4. Next, click on the Actions button
  5. Then select Delete
  6. If you have any team members (like Accountants) that you no longer need, click on the gear icon in the top left corner
  7. Click on My Team
  8. Next, check off the boxes and click on the Actions button
  9. Then select Delete
  10. ​Click on the gear icon in the top left corner again
  11. Click on Billing and Upgrade
  12. Select Manage Plan
  13. Click on the Downgrade button next to the plan you want to downgrade to. You'll be downgraded to the plan you've chosen, and you won't be charged until your next payment is due.

 

Cancelling an Account

While we're sad to see you go, we know that FreshBooks is not for everyone. We've made the process of cancelling and closing your account as hassle-free as possible. The Business Owner can cancel with the below steps:

  1. Save any data you need from your account first (once it's cancelled, you will no longer be able to access it)
  2. ​Click on the gear icon in the top left corner
  3. Click on Billing and Upgrade
  4. If you're still on a trial, click on manage your plan first
  5. Then click on the cancel your account link at the bottom.

You will be taken to a page where you can leave a comment and cancel your account.

As part of our 30 day guarantee, if you've cancelled within 30 days of your first payment, this is automatically refunded within several business days.

Note: If you're being billed through Apple Subscriptions, you'll need to use different steps to cancel here.

Was this article helpful?
8 out of 40 found this helpful